Subscribe  Subscribe

2013 NEPSAC Annual Meeting Awards Presented to Ken Martin and Susan Ford

The following awards were presented at the NEPSAC Annual Meeting held on Friday, November 22, 2013:

The Martin William Souders Memorial Award
Established in 1967 in memory of Martin William Souders, Director of Physical Education at Milton Academy, 1919 - 1929, and at Phillips Exeter Academy, 1930 - 1962, and the first President of the New England Preparatory School Athletic Council.        

In recognition of his leadership, vision, dedication and the constant and valuable contributions which he made to the cause and stature of Physical Education and Athletics among New England Independent Schools.
To be awarded annually to a graduate of a New England Independent School who made a distinguished record in sports and who has since made a distinguished record in life through his/her ideals, leadership and accomplishments.
2013-14 Sounders Award Winner: Susan Ford - '63 Ethel Walker School  
(Presented by John Monahan AD Ethel Walker)

            • Inducted into the 50th class of USLacrosse Hall of Fame
            • Played 4 years of lacrosse on the club team at Connecticut College
            • Coached Field Hockey and lacrosse at Concord Academy and then Wellesley
            • Undefeated regular season in her last year coaching at Wellesley College,
               leading the team to the national quarterfinals in the NCAA Tournament
            • 35 year lacrosse official, serving on the United States Women's Lacrosse
               Association Board of Directors for 20 years. as well as one term as president
            • Served on the Board of Directors for the US Lacrosse Foundation from 1998 to
            • Selected as New England Women's Eight Conference Coach of the Year in
            • Inducted into the Connecticut College Hall of fame in 1991
            • Recipient of the Nancy Chance Service Award in 2002
Distinguished Service Award
To be awarded annually to the individual who has contributed significantly to New England Independent School Athletics and Physical Education through enthusiasm, dedication, leadership and vision.
2013-14  Distinguished Service Award Winner: Ken Martin ’65, Belmont Hill, Former Belmont Hill Varsity Hockey Coach  (presented by George Tahan, Belmont Hill AD)

Coach Ken Martin is a 1965 graduate of Belmont Hill School.  He joined the faculty at Belmont Hill in 1972 and has been a teacher of Latin at the school for 40 years.  As an alum and head hockey coach, Coach Martin has been a part of Belmont Hill hockey, both as a player and coach, for more than 45 years.  He retired from coaching varsity hockey after the 2010-11 season after 39 seasons as head coach.  During his tenure as head coach his teams won 15 Independent School League titles, two New England Championships, and earned numerous post season tournament berths, including NEPSAC Tournament berths in each of his last six years as coach.  His teams captured 12 Lawrenceville Tournament titles and were 8 times runners up.  He is a member of the Massachusetts State Hockey Coaches Hall of Fame and his 707 wins at Belmont Hill have made him the winningest coach in Massachusetts state history.    He coached 1020 games and completed his varsity coaching career with a record of 707 wins, 270 losses and 43 ties and a winning percentage of 71%.  In November 2013 he was inducted into the Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame.  Eight of his players have gone on to play in the NHL, with several more playing elsewhere professionally, and countless others playing at colleges throughout the country.  Coach Martin is a graduate of Bowdoin College, where he captained the varsity hockey team in his senior year and is a member of the Bowdoin Athletic Hall of Fame.  He continues to teach Latin at Belmont Hill and is currently the head coach of the school’s 8th grade hockey team.

Click here for a gallery of the 2013 NEPSAC award winners.