Subscribe  Subscribe

Governor's Academy: 2009 Class B Field Hockey Champs!

The Governor's Academy field hockey team won the New England Class B Championship title with a thrilling 2-1 overtime victory over Thayer Academy on Sunday. Junior Kate Leary scored on a breakaway with just over a minute left in the first overtime period, off a perfect crossing pass from senior Ellie Clayman.
Thayer scored first, notching a goal just three minutes into the first half. The Govs slowly gained momentum as the tough defensive play of juniors Jill Conway, and Hannah Rochman, and senior goalie Jen Migliore held off Thayer's aggressive attack.

Governor's ended the half down 1-0 but regrouped and came out much stronger in the second half. Junior Chrissy Toomey, seniors Caitlin Toomey and Maggie Morrissey and Conway improved their midfield ball movement and gave the Govs more offensive opportunities. The evened the score when sophomore Kelsey Duryea knocked in a beautiful shot 17 minutes into the second half. The Govs' defense did a good job keeping the ball away from the net in the final minute to send the game into overtime.

Thayer dominated all but the last minute and a half of overtime play with numerous corner attempts. The Govs defense held strong and finally gave the team the offensive opportunity it needed. The team efficiently moved down the field, with Clayman feeding Leary the gamewinner. With the win, Governor's closed out its banner season with a 12-4-2 record and claimed the New England title for the first time since 2002.

Article and photo from The Governor's Academy website.