Subscribe  Subscribe

Rivers Field Hockey Team Wins 2014 NEPSAC Championship

The varsity field hockey team won its third New England Preparatory School Athletic Council (NEPSAC) Class C Championship on Sunday afternoon, toppling Proctor Academy 3-0 in a game where the Red Wings established themselves as the better side right from the first whistle.

“I can’t say enough how proud I am of this group of girls,” said first-year Head Coach Janna Anctil. “For such a young team, they showed incredible maturity under pressure and I’m so happy that they were able to prove how talented they are. They worked hard for this every single day and, as a coach, I really can’t ask for much more than that. They earned it.”
Molly Eden ’15, Shannon Daley ’18, and Jamie Navoni ’15 scored for Rivers while Lorraine Byrne ’17 kept Proctor off the scoreboard with a solid game in the goal.
This is the second NEPSAC championship for senior co-captains Jamie Navoni and Molly Eden, both of whom were ninth graders on the 2011 NEPSAC Championship team. The Red Wings finish the 2014 season with a 11-8 record overall and a perfect 7-0 record against Class C competition.
The road to the championship game at Middlesex began with a trip to Simsbury, CT where the Red Wings saw two of their goals disallowed before regrouping to score a 2-1 win over The Ethel Walker School in double overtime. Up next was a rematch with Dana Hall, a team that had pushed the Red Wings to overtime earlier in the season.
Proving how far this team had come in just three short months, the Red Wings jumped out to an early lead and never gave it up. Rivers went on to score two more goals and advance to the finals on the back of a 3-0 win.
Congratulations to the Red Wings on a great season and a memorable tournament run!
The 2014 NEPSAC Class C Champions: Molly Eden ’15 (captain), Jamie Navoni ’15 (captain), Jen Lowell ’15, Ellie Branka ’16, Sami Estes ’16, Alex Sidell ’16, Lorraine Byrne ’17, Holly Glass ’17, Erin McKay ’17, Elliott Ramirez ’17, Michelle Ryder ’17, Campbell Siegrist ’17, Kaitlin Wood ’17, Julia Carlin ’18, Shannon Daley ’18, Courtney Day ’18, Jenna Letterie ’18, managers Nick Churchill ’15 and Paddy Daley ’15, Head Coach Janna Anctil, and Assistant Coach Lydia Gibson.